top of page
  • melodramaticmillen3

2023 and me

Updated: Apr 10, 2023

I really don't like New Year's resolutions. They make me quite anxious.


Every year I wonder: What would I change or do differently next year? And like everyone else, I also have a few things. I want to be fitter, healthier, and stronger. I want to travel more and see new places. Drink more water, etc.

So, January first comes around, and I am jacked up and ready to go. I can't wait to start this new journey. New year, new me. And so it goes for a few weeks.

But as always, I stop and don't complete anything.

New year, same me.

It's hard. New year, new me. That's a lot of pressure. And what does that even mean?

New me. I feel like we all say it and try it, but we don't really understand the impact.

I can barely deal with the current me. A new me is going to be impossible.

And still, I mentally sign myself up for all of these things. Do this, to that. Try this, try that. Blah, blah, blah.


Every year I think that I can do it all.

But I can't.

Inevitably, the long list gives me anxiety, and when I fail to complete the list, it makes me feel like a failure, which is a horrible feeling for someone who is really hard on herself.

I also tend to give up and move on, which I know now is part of my ADD.

But anyway, that's a story for another day.

The reason a new year's resolution list makes me anxious is because it is so daunting. and it can seem unattainable. It's also very overwhelming, and when I am overwhelmed, I can sometimes shut down. Not completing a task is like standing in front of the mirror, pointing at myself, and saying, "I knew it, so why bother trying?"

and that's hard.

So I have made the decision that instead of making a New Year's resolution list for 2023, I will continue with what started this year and do what I can next year. A mind-shift from "new year, new me" to something a little bit more attainable. Something like 2023 and me

and that can mean whatever I need it to mean.

I will continue to exercise and focus on eating healthier food and not skipping any meals. I will also continue to make time to read and write.

But there are two things I would like to add because these things are important. Firstly, I need to make more time for my family and friends, and that includes the very simple task of replying to all my messages, even when I am overwhelmed, and secondly, I need to make time for myself.

I heard someone say once that you cannot give some of yourself to others when you don't have anything to give. Taking care of myself means that I can share the best parts of myself with those that matter most.

Being burned out and unhappy are not parts of myself I care to share with others. and it's a burden I don't want to carry. I want to be my best self.

When 2023 comes around, I will be thankful for the opportunities it provides. Entering a new year is a blessing, and I will not waste it.

Cheers to you, me, and the new year, 2023!

15 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

תגובות


bottom of page