top of page
  • melodramaticmillen3

Thank you! Full stop.

Ugh I struggle so a lot with accepting a compliment. Anyone else?


Seriously how difficult can it possibly be to just say thank you and move on. Two words. THANK and YOU.


Simple, easy and fast.


But no. My brain goes thank you and my mouth goes:

  • Thank you, it has pockets.

  • Thank you, I bought it three years ago in another province.

  • Thank you, it's new.

  • Really? I wasn't sure about it this morning. Don't I look like a pumpkin?

  • Oh wow! Thanks. If I see it again somewhere I'll let you know.

  • Aww thanks. It's so old. Found it in the back of my cupboard and decided to try it on and it still fit.

  • Thank you! I like yours too. (Person isn'teven wearing the same item of clothing)


I'm sure there are so many more, but for my own sake I should rather stop.


I can't understand it. I always have to say something, shift the attention from the compliment. For example, someone's says. You look pretty today. And instead of saying thank you. I'll say, thank you, the dress has pockets which is awesome and it's also new so you can still get one if you wanted too...blah blah blah


Why Wanda?! Why?


Is there a reason for this or am I simply crazy?


I've always had great manners you know. I say please and thank, I give compliments etc etc and yet the acceptance of a compliment seems to fall in somewhat of a grey area. An area where accepting of a compliment was never properly demonstrated. Or even more likely a behavior I picked up later in life.


The simplicity and wonderfulness of a compliment seems to be completely lost on me.


A compliment and the moment thereof should be appreciated. It's a special thing. Someone is taking time out of their day to tell you something nice about yourself and to make you feel good. The moment should be savored. I know that and yet I keep over thinking it.


Perhaps accepting a compliment is hard because I don't always see what others see.


Maybe the take away is to listen to what others say and believe that what they say is true?


And if so that means that the next time I get a compliment I should concentrate on what they are saying and then remember say thank you and to not share any additional unsolicited information unless specifically requested.


Live in the moment and all that.


Hmm well I can only try. How hard could it be?


Anyway, I'll check in again in a few months and give you all some feedback on how it's going.


Fingers crossed!


FYI, you're amazing and special and thank you for reading my blog.

5 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page