top of page
  • melodramaticmillen3

My Medication Mindset: the need

Every morning I woke up and was completely exhausted and anxious, even though I'd had a full night's sleep.


My head was all over the place and I struggled to get simple tasks done, like having breakfast. Because all I could think about was what I had to do today.


And that took precedence. The daily to-do was what I thought about when I went to bed and again when I woke up. And that overwhelmed me to the point of shutting down. Which meant that I could do something for hours but got nothing done.


It was a terrible feeling. I hated waking up already tired from the day that hadn't even started yet.


I struggled but thought nothing of it because maybe that's just life. Maybe we're just busy and tired all the time now.


But then one day my husband asked me if I was okay because I was all over the place and forgetting things constantly. I was unhappy and unreliable. 


He then suggested I maybe contact my doctor and just have a chat. Maybe she can help. So that's what I did.


When I left the doctors office, I left with script in hand that read Ritalin. I was confused, because isn't this just for hyperactive children that can't sit still in class or students studying for finals?


Apparently not. So many adults use similar medication to just get through the day.


With not ever truly unplugging and everything always being rushed, our minds cannot adjust or keep up. So we need help.


We need a little something to assist us with being the best version of ourselves. The version that excites us and makes us proud. The organised and happy version.


So it's been almost two years and I've never looked back. I cannot properly function without my medication. It helps me to get through the day, for the most part unscathed. I have more successful and productive days than I've had, I think, ever?!


It's honestly been life-changing!


And I am never going back.


I need my Ritalin because that's the Wanda I want to be. The real me. Not the one that keeps putting the empty milk box back in the fridge.


She's too much to deal with and honesty drives me crazy.


So this is me. The real me. The Ritalin me!


23 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Kommentarer


bottom of page