top of page
  • melodramaticmillen3

The feeling of Christmas

Updated: Apr 10, 2023


If you had asked me a few days ago how I was feeling about Christmas and the festive season, my answer would have been something along the lines of "not very festive," "something feels off," "not as exciting as usual," etc.


But after yesterday and today, I feel a lot better.


We spent yesterday with my folks; we made a Christmas brunch, opened presents, laughed, ate a lot, and had an absolute blast wearing funny headbands. It was so special and so much fun.


And today we stuffed our faces with my inlaws and some more family, and it was wonderful. We ate way too much, laughed until our faces hurt, and needed a short nap when we got home. which, in my mind, is the sign of a successful Christmas lunch.


Today I feel refreshed and happy. It feels like Christmas, and I'm so grateful.


2022 has been a year. It's been hard, and I'm exhausted. I needed this summer holiday to be a good one.


December is the time of year when I get to recharge, and the best way that I do that is when I am around my people. They make my life better, and sharing this time off with them is absolutely vital.


So this year's Christmas has been so special. And I am glad that my answer today differs from a few days ago.


With 2022 coming to an end in a few days, I hope that the feeling of Christmas will continue into the new year.


We all deserve a good year.


Merry Christmas to those celebrating, and may this time off be what you need to recharge.

13 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page